# ERIE REGIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY MEETING Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Minutes of a Meeting of the Erie Regional Airport Authority duly posted and advertised, held in the second floor conference room of the Intermodal Center, 208 East Bayfront Parkway, Erie, Pennsylvania 16507.

#### **Attendees:**

Daniel Giannelli James Pacansky Ed Tropper, Aviation Flyers

Marybeth Smialek Michelle Magee Brian Slawin Jennifer Gornall

David Hallman, Jr.

### Participated by Phone:

Aaron Susmarski Richard Wagner Brad Peganoff Andrea Zdaniewski Gregory Hayes Lou Aliota, citizen

Board President Andrea Zdaniewski opened the meeting at 12:04 PM with the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America.

## **Approval of Agenda:**

Ms. Zdaniewski asked for a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Daniel Giannelli moved to approve the agenda and Marybeth Smialek seconded. Approved by Yeas: Marybeth Smialek, Aaron Susmarski, Richard Wagner, Daniel Giannelli, Gregory Hayes, Andrea Zdaniewski, Brian Slawin, David Hallman, Jr., and Brad Peganoff.

Mr. Peganoff asked if the questions emailed to the Board have been answered. Ms. Gornall stated she replied to the email. Mr. Peganoff said he was driving so could not access his email. Ms. Gornall read the original email then her responses. Ms. Gornall misspoke and stated the email was from Mr. Peganoff. Mr. Peganoff told her to get it right, the email was from Greg Hayes. Ms. Gornall corrected herself and proceeded to read the email as well as her responses to the questions in the email.

At the request of Ms. Zdaniewski, Ms. Gornall reviewed the by-laws of the Erie Regional Airport Authority in respect to the election of officers (Article 3 Section 5). Mr. Peganoff stated that our by-laws overlap those of the County and City which disrupts natural order. Ms. Gornall explained that our by-laws do not pertain to the procedures of the County or City.

Mr. Wagner stated that Derek texted him an outdated document (1996) from the City regarding residency requirements. Mr. Hayes stated he is concerned that Derek texted a Board Member something that wasn't shared with the whole Board. Ms. Smialek clarified that it was an email sent by Derek on Saturday January 15, 2022, that did go to the entire Board including Mr. Hayes that contained information pulled directly from the City of Erie website regarding residency requirements for City appointees to the Erie

Regional Airport Authority Board of Directors and has nothing to do with our by-laws. Ms. Gornall added that the Airport's by-laws do not address residency. Ms. Gornall confirmed what she already addressed in an email on the matter sent on Friday, January 14, 2022, that the Authority's Amended Articles of Incorporation do not reference residency. Ms. Gornall also shared information from the Pennsylvania Municipality Authorities Act regarding residency requirements for Board Members.

Ms. Zdaniewski stated that the meeting needs to get back to the Agenda items and asked Mr. Susmarski to read the slate of officers for 2022 aloud:

Mr. Susmarski announced the following Slate of Officers for 2022: President- Andrea Zdaniewski Vice President- Daniel Giannelli President Pro-Tem- Aaron Susmarski Treasurer- Marybeth Smialek Secretary- David Hallman, Jr.

Mr. Hayes stated that as a member of the Nominating Committee this slate was not unanimous as stated in the minutes from the meeting. Ms. Magee offered to clarify what was actually said at the meeting based on her notes, but Mr. Hayes said that she (Ms. Magee) would just say whatever she wants anyways so no clarification was given.

Ms. Zdaniewski asked for nominations from the floor. Mr. Peganoff nominated Gregory Hayes for President and Richard Wagner seconded. Ms. Zdaniewski declined the nomination for President and nominated Daniel Giannelli for President and Marybeth Smialek seconded that nomination. Mr. Giannelli stated for the record that he accepts the nomination for President. Mr. Giannelli nominated Andrea Zdaniewski for the office of Vice President and David Hallman, Jr. seconded.

The Board voted the offices of President Pro-Tem, Treasurer, and Secretary as presented by the Nominating Committee:

President Pro-Tem- Aaron Susmarski

Treasurer- Marybeth Smialek

Secretary- David Hallman, Jr.

Brian Slawin made a motion to approve, and Daniel Giannelli seconded; approved by yeas: Aaron Susmarski, Richard Wagner, Daniel Giannelli, Gregory Hayes, Andrea Zdaniewski, Brian Slawin, David Hallman, Jr., Brad Peganoff, and Marybeth Smialek.

Ms. Gornall stated the next vote will be for Gregory Hayes for the President position. If Mr. Hayes receives the majority vote, then no further vote is needed for President and Mr. Hayes becomes President. With a motion and second already made, Ms. Magee called for the vote for Gregory Hayes for President:

Yeas: Richard Wagner, Brad Peganoff, and Gregory Hayes.

Nays: Daniel Giannelli, Andrea Zdaniewski, Brian Slawin, David Hallman, Jr.,

Marybeth Smialek, and Aaron Susmarski.

The motion for Gregory Hayes for President does not carry. With a motion and a second already made for Daniel Giannelli for President, Ms. Magee called for the vote for Daniel Giannelli for President:

Yeas: Richard Wagner, Daniel Giannelli, Andrea Zdaniewski, Brian Slawin, David Hallman, Jr., Marybeth Smialek, and Aaron Susmarski.

Nays: Gregory Hayes and Brad Peganoff.

With a motion and second already made for Andrea Zdaniewski for Vice President, Ms. Magee called for the vote for Andrea Zdaniewski for Vice President:

Yeas: Daniel Giannelli, Andrea Zdaniewski, Brian Slawin, David Hallman, Jr.,

Marybeth Smialek, Aaron Susmarski, and Richard Wagner.

Nays: Gregory Hayes and Brad Peganoff.

#### There were no **Public Comments**

## **Board Member Comments**

Ms. Zdaniewski thanked her fellow Board Members for the opportunity to serve as President and congratulated Mr. Giannelli. She thanked all Board Members for their work over the past year.

#### There were no **Executive Director Comments**

David Hallman, Jr., made a motion to adjourn, and Brian Slawin seconded. Approved by All.

Adjournment:	12:35 PM	
David Hallman,	Jr., Secretary	